Can H Kaur Lead India To Their First Women’s T20 World Cup Championship?

The men’s cricket team gets most of the attention when it comes to cricket in India but the women are slowly beginning to generate more interest in women’s cricket as a select few of Indian’s women cricketers establish themselves and build their brand image in the public’s eye.

H Kaur Confirmed As Captain

The biggest superstar in the Indian women’s cricket team arguably is Harmanpreet Kaur. The 30 year old all-rounder has won the Arjuna Award for Cricket back in 2017 and has done a lot to boost the image of women’s cricket.

The BCCI has confirmed that H Kaur will captain the women’s cricket during the women’s T20 World Cup which takes place in Australia. The 2020 T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place from 21 Feb to 8 March and will see 10 teams battle it out to be crowned T20 World Cup champions

This is a great opportunity for H Kaur to etch her name in Indian cricketing history by leading her squad to their first T20 World Cup championship. This is not going to be an easy road as the two favourites to win the T20 World Cup are hosts Australia and England who occupy the number 1 and number 2 positions on the women’s ICC T20 points table.

India is in 4th place as they haven’t really done well in T20 cricket. They have played 15 matches since the T20 World Cup in 2018 and have won just 8.

Warm Up Games In Australia

The BCCI has scheduled a tri series in Australia in Jan 2020 that involves Australia, India and England. This will give the Indian team a great opportunity to adjust to Australian conditions and also test themselves against the two best teams in T20 cricket.

Even if India does not do well in this tri-series, it will give them the experience and insight to know what areas they need to improve and which players should make up the playing XI. India will field all 16 players who are part of the T20 World Cup squad and it will be up to each player to perform and cement their place in the playing XI.

T20 World Cup Squad

Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodriguez, Shafali Verma, Harleen Deol, Richa Ghosh, Deepti Sharma, Tania Bhatia, Radha Yadav, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Shikha Pandey and Arundhati Reddy.