India Start 2020 As Heavy Favourites In T20 Series Against Sri Lanka

India has a very busy cricketing schedule in 2020 and they start the New Year off with a three match T20 series at home against Sri Lanka. India go in as heavy favourites as the Sri Lankan team are slowly rebuilding and looking to regain their winning touch.

Three Match T20 Series

The men in blue will kick things off on Jan 5 when the first T20 takes place at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati followed by the second T20 which takes place at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on January 7. The third and final T20 will be held on January 10 at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune.

India Heavy Favourites

India will want to work on their T20 game with the T20 World Cup coming up in Australia later this year. India are currently ranked 5 and Sri Lanka is ranked in 7th place. Based on the ranking, there is not a lot of difference between the teams but India’s home record against Sri Lanka will show different.

The Lankan Lions have played India in India on 8 occasions and have only managed to win 2 of them. India are playing a rather strong side as Kohli will captain the side and all of their experienced players will be available except for R Sharma who is being rested and H Pandya who is still recovering from injury.

The Sri Lankan team will be captained by the experienced L Malinga who will want to get his side off to a winning start in the New Year. There are a number of new Sri Lankan faces in this squad and the Indian players as well as the fans will not be familiar with them.

For Sri Lanka to put pressure on India, they need to win the first T20. This is an opportunity for their young players to put their hands up and book themselves a spot for the T20 World Cup in October.

T20 Teams

India Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson and Washington Sundar.

Sri Lanka Squad: Lasith Malinga (captain), Kusal Perera, D Gunathilaka, A Fernando, B Rajapaksa, O Fernando, D Shanka, A Matthews, N Dickwella, K Mendis, W Hasaranga, L Sandakan, D de Silva, L Kumara and I Udana.