South Africa Lose T20 Game As Kohli Becomes Leading Run Scorer In T20 Intls

South Africa were not expected to put up much of a challenge to India in the second T20 at Mohali, given the fact that they are playing with a lot of inexperienced players. It turned out to be the case as India coasted to victory and won by 7 wickets with an over to spare.

South Africa Unable to Break Shackles

Virat Kohli won the toss and put South Africa into bat as the Indian captain preferred to chase whatever score the Proteas set. Turned out that India did not have to chase much as South Africa struggled to get themselves going against a disciplined Indian attack.

The best period for South Africa was early on in the match when their captain Quinton de Kock smacked N Saini for four boundaries in his first over. However, a poor shot from opener R Hendricks broke the opening partnership and brought T Bavuma to the crease.

Bavuma struggled to score freely and put pressure on his captain at the other end. Once de Kock reached his fifty, he tried to break free and ended up losing his wicket in the process. H van der Dussen who has played well for South Africa in recent times got out for 1 and Bavuma followed. He made 49 runs but at a strike rate of 113 which gave the middle-order not a lot of overs to work with.

South Africa reached 149 in their 20 overs and it was never going to be enough for a strong Indian batting line-up.

Kohli Now Leading T20 Run Scorer

South Africa might have thought they had a chance of winning once they got rid of the dangerous R Sharma for 12. However, S Dhawan and V Kohli put together a match winning partnership where the scored at a decent rate and also ensured the loss of no wickets. Dhawan got out for 40 but Kohli as he usually does remained unbeaten on 72 and made sure he took India to victory.

During the course of his knock, Kohli also earned the feat of becoming the leading T20 run scorer in international cricket. He also received the man of the match award at Mohali.

The third and final T20 is set to take place on Sep 22 in Bengaluru and India will want to win that and finish the series on a 2-0 victory note.