India Run Through West Indies To Clinch T20 Series In Style

India did not have to fight very hard to win back to back T20 games in Florida as the West Indies did not put up a great fight. India have now won the three match T20 series 2-0 and the final T20 will be just a formality and maybe a chance for them to experiment with their bench strength.

First T20: N Saini Wins Man Of The Match

The first T20 was a low scoring affair as the West Indies could only put up 95 on the board as they struggled to cope with the line and length of the Indian bowlers. N Saini who made his debut was the most impressive of all the bowlers picking up three crucial wickets that broke the back of the West Indies batting line-up and earned him the man of the match award.

India made a mess of the chase as they kept losing wickets at one end while R Sharma top scored with 24. S Dhawan (1) and R Pant (0) failed while Kohli and M Pandey got starts but failed to stay at the crease and take India home. R Jadeja and W Sundar remained unbeaten and won the game for India with 16 balls to spare.

Second T20: K Pandya And R Sharma Seal The Win  

India batted first in the second T20 and R Sharma continued his good form making an impressive 67. S Dhawan (23) and captain V Kohli (28) failed to kick on and R Pant (4) failed yet again. K Pandya chipped in at the end with 20 vital runs to push India up to 167.

The West Indies were in trouble right away losing two quick wickets as rain threatened to curtail the match. D/L was applied to the final score and the West Indies were expected to get 121 of 15.3 overs. N Pooran and R Powell put together an impressive partnership and looked like taking the game away but K Pandya struck twice to remove them both and give India the win.

India will most likely look to bring in a few new faces to the squad for the third T20 based on Kohli’s post-match comments.

In a statement, Kohli said “Winning the first two games always gives you a chance to give an opportunity to a few guys. Having said that, the idea is always to win.”