BCCI Drops B Kumar And S Dhawan From A Contract List And Removes M Vijay Completely

It looks like M Vijay’s cricketing career is over as the BCCI decided to remove his name from the list of contracts it confirmed earlier this week. M Vijay was in the A category last year which pays out 5 crore rupees. The senior test opener has failed miserably and since he does not feature in the shorter formats of the game, he was dropped from the list of contracts.

B Kumar And S Dhawan Get Demoted

S Dhawan and B Kumar were also in the A list category last year as they are both senior members in the squad. Dhawan had been removed from the test side in Australia and his string of poor performances in the shorter format of the game was enough for the BCCI to drop him to the B level which pays out 3 crore.

The dropping of B Kumar to a B level contract comes as a bit of a surprise as Kumar has shown that he is capable bowler in all formats of the game. However, the rise of M Shami in all formats and the recent injuries that Kumar has suffered has cost him an A level contract.

Some of the other players in the A category are Ashwin, Jadeja, Pujara and Dhoni.

K Yadav and R Pant Get Upgraded

The BCCI have backed K Yadav who has turned out to be a match winner for India in the shorter formats of the game and has also proved that he has the control to be a regular in the test squad. The BCCI rewarded him with an A level contract and also included young R Pant who had a good run in the test series.

The fact that Pant has an A level contract is an indicator that he is expected to take over the gloves from MS Dhoni in the shorter formats of the game once MS Dhoni retires – which will most likely be after the 2019 World Cup.

Some of the other players in the B category are KL Rahul and H Pandya. The C category which pays out 1 crore has players like D Karthik, K Jadhav, W Saha and A Rayudu.

Only Three Players In A Plus Category

The A plus category pays the highest of 7 crores and only 3 players were rewarded with this contract. Captain V Kohli, vice-captain R Sharma and J Bumrah.