BCCI Selectors Finally Make The Decision To Drop MS Dhoni From T20 Squad

It was always going to be a matter of time before a decision was made on former captain MS Dhoni’s place in the T20 side. MS Dhoni had the choice to make the decision and retire from International duty in the T20 format or ride out his luck and wait for the selectors to call time.

Dhoni Dropped From West Indies And Australia Side

The selectors made the bold decision to leave out MS Dhoni from the T20 sides that will face the West Indies and Australia later this year. The decision came as a surprise as many fans expected the selectors to continue to give MS Dhoni a long rope based on his past accomplishments.

In a statement, MSK Prasad who is the chief selector said “Dhoni is not going to play the six T20Is because we’re looking at the second ‘keeper slot. It is not the end of Dhoni in T20s.”

The selectors opted for the experience of D Karthik and the talented R Pant who will take Dhoni’s place. Pant will most likely be the first choice as he has proven to be reasonably sound with the gloves and needs more match experience to get better. Karthik has been given numerous opportunities in the past but has yet to establish himself as a regular in the side.

Dhoni who led India to its first T20 World Cup victory has been phenomenal in the T20 format for a number of years. However both his form and strike rate have come under fire during the last couple of years as he has struggled to get going from ball one – something that is essential in the T20 format. While the selectors have left the door open for him to make his return to the squad, it is hard to see them giving him an extended run considering he is at the end of his career!

Selectors Make Some Interesting Decisions

K Jadhav who was not selected for the 4th and 5th ODI matches against the West Indies had a pleasant surprise as the selectors had a change of heart and brought him back.

The selectors also decided to give Kohli a break and rested him from the three match T20 series against the West Indies and have given the captaincy to Rohit Sharma.

Rohit Sharma and M Vijay have also been named in the test squad that will play a four match series in Australia later this year.