Global Poker League India Season 1 Format Released By PokerStars India

The Global Poker League (GPL) has promised to launch GPL India for a number of months but nothing has come out of those talks – till date. Now GPL India is set to run its inaugural tournament in 2018 in partnership with PokerStars India.

PokerStars India Promoting GPL India which launched in April 2018 will play a key role in promoting GPL India. The website will run online qualifiers for GPL India and will also be the platform that GPL India relies on to carry out its first edition. With the announcement, will come the opening of the landing page for players to pre-register for this new poker league.

The GPL India has an interesting format of six teams that are each tied to a specific region. Each team will be made up of 5 members – 2 poker pros, 2 qualifiers and 1 manager. Here are the teams that will participate in the inaugural edition of GPL India. The Delhi Diehards will be managed by Muskan Sethi, Kolkata Creators will be managed by Aditya Agarwal. Sethi and Agarwal are PokerStars Team Pro members. The other four teams are the Pune Alphas, Chennai Sharks, Mumbai Jetsetters and Bengaluru Hackers.

GPL India Team Selection

The start of the selection for the teams will kick off with online weekly qualifiers on PokerStars India. This will start on June 25 and continue on to September 9. This will be done by having seven Round 1 multi-table tournaments. The top ten from each tournament will then go to the Team Final, where they will participate in the GPL India Bootcamp. This is where players will be interviewed to see why they should be a part of their respective regional teams. The final test will be a Sit-and-Go game, each player starting with a stack that reflects their performance in the interview.

When that is all done, the team rosters will be finalized and the Season 1 Championship will begin. The team that wins will get to share a cash prize of 1 crore rupees and also receive five Platinum Passes. These passes are worth $30,000 each and allows players to participate in the 2019 PokerStars Players NL Hold’em Championship (PSPC) which will be held in the Bahamas in January 2019.

In a statement, Muskan Sethi, said, “This is too exciting and I cannot wait for the GPL online qualifiers to begin on the PokerStars India website. GPL India is the first long run poker league in the country and the prize on the line is huge!  It is important for any poker player to get the right platform to showcase his/her talent and PokerStars.IN and the GPL India rightly serves this purpose. I’d recommend everyone to check out GPL India’s qualifier’s schedule today and pre-register for the qualifier’s for their home team.”