Mumbai Indians Win Last Ball Thriller To Clinch 2017 IPL Championship

Mumbai Indians went into the 2017 IPL Finals as the underdog against Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) as they lost their last three matches against RPS. That record appeared to have a mental impact on Mumbai Indians as they batted first and struggled to break the shackles.

RPS bowled great line and lengths and once again J Unadkat and W Sundar put in solid performances sending down 8 overs between them for just 32 runs and picking up 2 wickets in the process. K Pandya anchored the innings for Mumbai and scored 47 crucial runs in just 38 balls. Pandya stayed till the end to get his side to a modest 129 but given the fact that it was an IPL final, RPS would always be under pressure, considering the fact that the Mumbai Indians had one of the best bowling line-ups in the competition.

RPS Struggle In Middle Overs

RPS got off to a slow start but A Rahane and captain Steven Smith put together a solid partnership to set the platform for RPS. Mumbai Indians gave RPS a number of chances by dropping catches and also missing crucial run-outs. It looked like it was going to be RPS’s day but Rahane got out at 44 and gave Mumbai a sliver of hope.

MS Dhoni came ahead of the inform M Tiwari as Dhoni had the experience of being in 7 IPL finals and RPS were hoping that he would see them through. It wasn’t to be MS Dhoni’s day as he fell cheaply for 10 runs. Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma used his bowlers wisely and they responded well to him. J Bumrah sent down crucial overs in the death and swung the match in favour of Mumbai Indians.

Mumbai Bowlers Clinch Thriller

He received support from Malinga who sent down 4 overs for just 21 runs and K Sharma who sent down his 4 overs for just 18 runs. The final over was bowled by Mitchell Johnson and he struck twice to take the crucial wickets of M Tiwari and Steven Smith which put too much pressure on RPS and in the end, Mumbai Indians were able to win by just 1 run.

Nita Ambani who owns the Mumbai Indians and is always present to support her team paid special tribute to M Johnson, L Malinga and J Bumrah for their bowling performance which helped them secure their third IPL championship.