India Finally Confirms Squad For Champions Trophy 2017

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the International Cricket Council (ICC) have been at loggerheads regarding a number of policy and revenue sharing changes. The BCCI which is the richest cricketing board in the world hasn’t been very happy with the proposed changes that the ICC has put forward and as a result did not meet the deadline to publish its squad for the 2017 Champions Trophy which takes place in June.

No Selection Surprises

However it appears that the two parties have finally managed to work out some of their issues as the BCCI recently published the names of players that will feature in the 2017 Champions Trophy. There are not many surprises as the selectors led by MK Prasad have chosen to go with a tried and tested combination rather than experimenting with any of the young guns and rising T20 players that have showcased their skills during the on-going 2017 IPL.

Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami who have been out of the Indian squad for a number of months have been selected as they have recovered from their injuries. Sharma will open the innings with S Dhawan and A Rahane has also been selected as a backup opener. MS Dhoni is the only wicket-keeper in the squad and young R Pant could not make the cut. India will once again have their spin twins in R Ashwin and R Jadeja who should both make the playing eleven.

Ashwin Returns

Ashwin has been out of the 2017 IPL recovering from an injury but the selectors were confident enough to include him in the squad even though he could be rusty from being side-lined for so long.

In a statement, MS Prasad, chairman of selectors said “As far as Ashwin is concerned, it was not exactly a serious injury. In fact, his franchise was magnanimous enough in accepting our request to rest him. Rest is all that was required for Ashwin. In the last international match, he represented India [in the Dharamsala Test]. That shows he was not totally unfit. He was not like the others who underwent surgery and were going through rehabilitation.”

India Squad

The full squad comprises V Kohli (captain), MS Dhoni, R Sharma, S Dhawan, A Rahane, M Pandey, Y Singh, K Jadhav, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, U Yadva, J Bumrah, H Pandya, M Shami and B Kumar. India will take on Pakistan in their first encounter in the Champions Trophy on June 4 at Edgbaston.