Star Studded IPL Opening Ceremony To Be Headlined By Chris Brown

The ninth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is all set to start on Saturday, April 9th 2016 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai with a match between home team, the Mumbai Indians and the new franchise the Rising Pune Giants.
The opening ceremony is scheduled to take place one day before the game on April 8 at the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium, Mumbai and is expected to be a huge star-studded event with lots of celebrity performances along with an appearance by the captains of all eight teams.CHRIS BROWN
Some of the major stars expected to perform at the opening ceremony are Bollywood superstars Ranveer Singh, Katrina Kaif and Jacqueline Fernandez. The show will be headlined by the International R&B star Chris Brown who is also the main attraction of the show. Along with Chris Brown other musicians like the popular Indian rapper Yo Yo Honey Singh will also perform. The American electronic music group Major Lazer has also been roped in for the show.
Along with the movie stars and musicians at the show, cricketer Dwayne Bravo will also perform his hit viral song ‘Champion’ on the opening night. There would also be a dance performance by the renowned hip-hop dance crew ‘Kings United’ along with a performance by the all-English pop band TBC. There would be more than 200 dancers and extras supporting the headliners at the show.
The IPL definitely seems to have upped the game this year by increasing the star power at the opening ceremony. Chris Brown is currently one of the hottest performers in the world and has smash hits like ‘With You’ and ‘Kiss Kiss’ under his name. The 9th edition of the IPL seems to have pulled all the stops to ensure that its opening ceremony is not lacking in star power. The predominance of hip-hop, rap and electronic music at the opening ceremony also shows that IPL is trying to appeal to the tastes of the younger generation.
The first match of the 2016 IPL will be played between ‘Mumbai Indians’ and ‘Rising Pune SuperGiants. The Mumbai team is being led by Indian opener and local boy Rohit Sharma while the Pune team will be led by Indian cricket captain MS Dhoni. The Mumbai Indians will be missing the services of strike bowler L Malinga who is out due to injury and could end up missing the entire tournament if he is not cleared to play during the next couple of weeks.