Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Preview – March 4, 2016 – Asia Cup

pakistan vs sri lankaThe final dead rubber match before the finals actually might be one of the most important for these teams prior to the World T20. Both teams underperformed and did not leave their selectors pleased. The winner of this match will take the momentum into the next huge tournament. Pakistan definitely looks to be the stronger of the two teams with their bowling attack, and middle of the pack batting. Sri Lanka are having all sorts of trouble with their bowling and batting. The pitch won’t be anything too different from what they are used to, so expect Amir to take the charges early versus Sri Lanka with at least two wickets.

The odds at Bet365 are 8/11 (1.72) in favor of Pakistan and 11/10 (2.10) for Sri Lanka. The odds seem closer than they should be. Pakistan did give Bangladesh a run for their money in the deciding match, whereas Sri Lanka didn’t amount to much. In Sri Lanka’s last match, they had struggled to chase down 147 by 23 runs. Pakistan is more than capable of setting this total, and Sri Lanka’s only saving grace in this tournament has been Dinesh Chandimal.

It can be expected that both teams will make some changes to experiment in their last international match before the T20 World Cup. Pakistan have publicly stated that change will be made  and precedence will not be given to seniority. Sri Lanka haven’t made a public statement as of yet, but from some hints it would seem that they would experiment as well. Either way, Pakistan should be able to take this match purely by the strength of their bowling attack.

There is no rain forecasted for this match.

Expected Rosters

Sri Lanka: 1 Dinesh Chandimal, 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Milinda Siriwardana, 4 Dasun Shanaka, 5 Angelo Mathews, 6 Chamara Kapugedara, 7 Shehan Jayasuriya, 8 Nuwan Kulasekara, 9 Rangana Herath, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Lasith Malinga/ Thisara Perera

Pakistan: 1 Sharjeel Khan, 2 Mohammad Hafeez, 3 Khurram Manzoor, 4 Umar Akmal, 5 Shoaib Malik, 6 Shahid Afridi (capt), 7 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), 8 Mohammad Sami, 9 Mohammad Amir, 10 Mohammad Nawaz, 11 Mohammad Irfan