India vs UAE Preview – March, 3 2016 – Asia Cup

inda vs uaeIt is rare to see a match where there is so little to play for. India has solidified their spots in the finals of the Asia Cup, whereas UAE have no chance to make it. However, there is always pride to play for, for both sides. UAE will look to take down a superpower with their semi-pro team, and India look to go undefeated prior to the finals and then the World T20. This will also be an opportunity for India to test some of their bench player such as Ajinkya Rahane, Harbhajan Singh, and Pawan Negi. The likes of Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, and Dhoni will most likely stay in the squad for this match.

The current odds at Bet365 are 1/33 (1.030) in favor of India and 10/1 (11.00) for UAE. There’s a highly unlikely chance that UAE pulls out an upset here, so expect India to come through with a strong win. Virat Kohli has been the best T20 batsman of 2016 with an average over 103.66. Against a weak bowling attack, he will most likely provide another 40+ run innings. On the side of UAE, their highlight has actually been their bowling versus Sri Lanka and Pakistan. Their fielding was decent as well. However, their batting left something like a bad taste in the viewer’s mouths. Don’t expect a 180 against the Indian bowling even if India uses their bench bowlers, but there could be a more aggressive approach since it is the last match of the tournament for the UAE squad.

The pitch will be the same as in the Pakistan vs Bangladesh match. Look for swing in the early overs (1-8), but then taper off into a more flat pitch where batsmen can dominate. There is no rain in the forecast.

Expected Rosters

UAE: 1 Rohan Mustafa, 2 Muhammad Kaleem, 3 Mohammad Shahzad, 4 Shaiman Anwar, 5 Mohammad Usman, 6 Amjad Javed (capt), 7 Usman Mushtaq, 8 Swapnil Patil (wk), 9 Mohammad Naveed, 10 Ahmed Raza, 11 Fahad Tariq.

India: 1 Rohit Sharma/ Ajinkya Rahane, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suresh Raina, 5 Yuvraj Singh, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 MS Dhoni (capt and wk), 8 Ravindra Jadeja/ Pawan Negi, 9 R Ashwin/ Harbhajan Singh, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Ashish Nehra/ Bhuvneshwar Kumar